top of page

Les Aromes du Chocolat


A large part of my working with chocolate is tasting bars made by other chocolate makers. This is how I was introduced to the fine chocolate industry, and large part of what I do with chocolate. I am constantly trying new bars by new makers, along with new bars by old makers. As a home chocolate maker, the background of having tasted numerous bars has only helped me as I create my own bars. It only makes sense that I’m continually finding ways to refine my palate, practice tasting, and learning about flavor in general.

I came across Les Aromes du Chocolat, a chocolate aroma kit by Projet Chocolat, one day on Instagram. The gorgeous photos drew me in, but I was really interested in what an aroma kit could do to help refine my palate. I knew that scent and taste were closely connected, and I utilize scent in a large way when I taste chocolate. There are aroma kits for wine, spirits, and beer- so what would be in a chocolate aroma kit?

After returning multiple times to look at the kit online, wondering if it was for me, I reached out to Sophia from Projet Chocolat. Upon hearing her heartfelt description of what the kit is about, what her standards for the kit are, and why she has made it, I was convinced that it was time to purchase.

Waiting for the mail to arrive can be torture. You’re expecting something special. The mailman is later than usual. The clock ticks. Finally, it’s in your hands.

Les Aromes du Chocolat is, first of all, gorgeous. From the linen cover with an engraved metal plaque, to the print and design of the box, to the precisely sized slot for each aroma bottle to nestle into, the presentation itself is a work of art. But what the kit is really about is the individual aromas.

There are 24 aromas, each falling under the categories of FLORAL, SPICE, SWEET, FRUITY, ROASTED, EARTHY, and BUTTERY. The twenty-four aromas are not an exhaustive list of aromas found in chocolate, but some of the most common scents you will come across on your chocolate journey. The aromas are spot on when it comes to scent. They were crafted as naturally and locally as sources would allow, according to Sophia. These are professional quality scents, and the quality matches the elegant exterior they are presented in.

The purpose of my purchasing the kit was to help develop my palate. I will put aside the aesthetic pleasure of the kit for a moment, because it all boils down to the final question- Did the kit help refine my palate? I started slowly. I took a scent or two and spent a day with it, smelling it multiple times, trying to imprint this scent into my memory.

Yes, this kit meets my expectations. Yes, this kit has helped refine my palate by helping me to pinpoint specific flavor notes that I may have not realized I was smelling or tasting. (exemple: orange blossom) Yes, this kit will continue to help me as a business owner, and will be used as a resource in years to come. Les Aromes du Chocolat is confidence building to both experienced chocolate tasters and customers who are new to the great world of chocolate. I will continue to use the kit for research purposes as well as using it to help educate customers, building their confidence and adding to the enjoyment of their chocolate tasting experience.

To see the kit for yourself, and see what other treats Projet Chocolat has to offer, visit their website at http://projetchocolat.com .

Čokolada Mama wrote this blog based on her own opinion and was not compensated in any way.


Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page